• Reference Material
  • July 2, 2019

Mental Health Disorder Codes

Child and Adolescent Mental Health Disorders Classification System (CAMHD-CS)*

The CAMHD-CS classifies child mental health disorders across ICD-9 and ICD-10 diagnostic codes as well as aligns with DSM-V psychiatric diagnosis groups.

Specifically, the CAMHD-CS codes include:

  • 24 mental health disorder groups, including suicide or self-injury
  • 2 maternal/child mental health-related categories
    • Maternal mental illness or substance abuse during pregnancy, delivery or post-partum
    • Fetal or newborn damage related to maternal substance abuse
  • 4 mental health-related problem groups
    • Accidental or undetermined poisoning
    • Substance abuse-related medical illness
    • Child mental health symptom (e.g., irritability)
    • Miscellaneous (e.g., academic underachievement) 

Related files

Updated 8/23/2021 to include added FY2020 ICD-10 codes

Contacts: Bonnie Zima and Jonathan Rodean

*pronounced “CAM-dee”