2017 Pediatric Quality Award Judges

Industry judges

Dr. Peter Lachman, M.D., MPH, MBBCh, FRCPCH, FCP (SA), FRCPI, assumed the position of chief executive officer for the International Society for Quality in Health Care (ISQua) on May 1, 2016. He is an experienced clinician and leader in quality improvement and patient safety. Read full bio.

Virginia Moyer, PQA judge

Dr. Virginia A. Moyer is the vice president for Maintenance of Certification (MOC) and quality at the American Board of Pediatrics. Dr. Moyer is a former member from 2002 to 2008 and chair from 2011 to 2014 of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. Dr. Moyer has extensive expertise in evidence-based medicine, education, health care quality and patient safety. Read full bio.

Dr. David W. Price, M.D., FAAFP, FACEHP, is senior vice president, American Board of Medical Specialties Research and Education Foundation, and executive director of the ABMS Multi-Specialty Portfolio Approval Program. He is also professor of family medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine. He is board-certified by the American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) and participates in MOC. Read full bio.

Children's Hospital Association member judges

  • Yasir Al-qaqaa, MD – NYU Langone Hassenfeld Children’s Hospital, New York, New York 
  • Katherine E. Bates, MD, MS – C. S. Mott Children’s Hospital, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Sarah Brethouwer, CLSS, MBB – Children’s Hospital Colorado, Aurora, Colorado
  • Lee E. Budin, MD – Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois
  • Tracy B. Chamblee, PhD., APRN, PCNS-BC – Children’s Health, Dallas, Dallas, Texas
  • Patricia Flynn, MD – St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis, Tennessee
  • Angela L. Green, PhD, RN, CPHQ – Arkansas Children’s Hospital, Little Rock, Arkansas
  • Michael F. Gutzeit, MD – Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • James Hoffman, PharmD, MS, BCPS – St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis, Tennessee
  • Audrey Hubbard, RN, MSN, HACP – Baylor Scott & White McLane Children’s Medical Center, Temple, Texas
  • Angela Jarden, BSN, RN, CCRN – Cleveland Clinic Children’s, Cleveland, Ohio
  • Prerna S. Kahlon, BDS, MPAH, CPHQ – Boston Children’s Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts
  • Ron Keren, MD, MPH – The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • James Konzelman, MSN, RN – Voorhees Pediatric Facility, Voorhees, New Jersey
  • Karen Mitchell, MSN, RN, CCRC – Children’s Hospital of the King’s Daughters, Inc., Norfolk, Virginia
  • Donna Moyer, PhD, RN, PCNS-BC – Bronson Methodist Hospital, Kalamazoo, Michigan
  • Brigitta U. Mueller, MD, MHCM, CPE,CPPS,FAAP – Johns Hopkins All Children’s Hospital, St Petersburg, Florida
  • Amrita D. Naipaul, MSN, PCCNP, MBA – The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Canada
  • Suresh Nirody, MBA, FACHE, CMQ/OE, CPPS – Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Janine Petitgout, DNP, ARNP, CPNP – University of Iowa Stead Family Children’s Hospital, Iowa City, Iowa
  • Nina A. Rauscher, MS, RN, CPHQ – Boston Children’s Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts
  • Michael L. Rinke, MD, PhD – The Children’s Hospital at Montefiore, Bronx, New York
  • Irene Sandate, RN, MSN, NNP-BC – University Health System Children’s Health, San Antonio, Texas
  • Melissa Schafer, MD – Upstate Golisano Children’s Hospital, Syracuse, New York
  • Rahul K. Shah, MD, MBA – Children’s National Health System, Washington, District of Columbia
  • Peter Silver, MD, MBA, FCCM, FAAP – Cohen Children’s Medical Center, New Hyde Park, New York
  • Danielle P. Thurtle, MD – Wake Forest Baptist Health – Brenner Children’s Hospital, Winston-Salem, North Carolina
  • Carolyn Ziebert, DNP, RN – Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, Wisconsin


2017 Judges

Judging this year's entries are pediatric quality experts from children's hospitals and allied organizations including the American Board of Medical Specialties Research and Education, American Board of Pediatrics, and the International Society for Quality in Health Care.

Past Award Entries