• Analysis or Summary
  • July 20, 2021

Key Section 1115 Medicaid Waivers

Section 1115 of the Social Security Act allows the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services to approve state Medicaid demonstration projects that promote the objectives of the program but may not otherwise be allowed under the Medicaid statute. CHA provides an overview of the current approved Section 1115 demonstration waiver landscape and identifies whether these waivers are consistent with CHA's Section 1115 waiver principles for children's coverage, which assess how waivers impact children.

CHA highlights four categories of waivers: delivery system reform, multi-component, adult expansion, and targeted population and/or services waivers. The map shows the key themes of existing waivers in each state and includes links to brief waiver summaries. The map does not highlight nor include summaries of pending waivers or amendments and approved demonstrations with a focus on family planning services, HIV/AIDs or services for senior citizens.

State waiver summaries

State waiver categories and themes by state

PDF: List of waiver theme and category descriptions

Blue Square on Waivers Map Legend Delivery system/payment reform  Specific population/services Green Square on Waivers Map Legend Adult Medicaid expansion 
Orange Square on Waivers Map Legend Multi-component Gray Square on Waivers Map Legend  No approved waiver

*Indicates a state has multiple approved waivers.

Hawaii and Alaska, not visible on the map, have approved multi-component and specific population/services waivers, respectively.

External Resources

We continue to monitor state waiver actions and identify trends and will provide relevant, timely updates as appropriate.

CHA contact: Rachel Bonesteel